As she so eloquently points out, It is not that she wants cancer, rather she wants recognition for the suffering and pain an unseen illness can cause. Just because mental illness is invisible for the most part doesn’t mean it is not there for the person experiencing it. Suffering is the same whether outsiders can see it or not.
A wise woman, and a great read.

Summer Solstice Musings

Yeah, you heard it right.

I know that I’m gonna get a lot of angry cancer patients on my case, thinking I’m mocking them.  However, I am not.

While I’ve had been thinking of it it for quite a while, only until very recently I finally said it to someone other than myself, on a DM.

And I stand by it.

You see, I have an illness.  But it’s a mental one.  I look good on the outside.  I haven’t lost ridiculous amounts of weight.  I still have all my hair. I have a good colour.  I don’t look like I’m ready to take my boat ride across the River Styx. Only that I am.  And I’ve been there several times.

But Mental illnesses don’t get the sympathy or empathy from society that cancer does.  Or Cystic Fibrosis.  Or Muscular Dystrophy.  Or any other of those “legitimate” illnesses.

People…

View original post 486 more words

6 thoughts on “

  1. Why, thank you. I am quite honoured!

  2. Mollie Player says:

    So true. I think I WOULD rather have cancer than mental illness.

    • S. says:

      I know what you mean. I had back surgery and have lingering nerve pain and post-surgical complications leading to muscle pain… All that to say that basically I am 26 and live with chronic pain. But I look healthy. I work three four hour shifts a week as workman’s comp was going to cut me off if I didn’t do a return to work and that was the most I could physically handle. Plus my nerve pain has gotten worse and worse since I went back to work.
      Anyway, I digress. If you want to know more about the back, check out http://findingpassionforlife.wordpress.com There you will find my back story, here is my depression story although to be honest they are intimately related and cannot be separated so cleanly.
      Thanks, it means a lot to meet people who can relate. I am curling up with your book now! I think I will read “What I Learned From Jane” tonight!
      Sleep Tight!
      xo – S.

Leave a Reply

